Music Lovers Find a Home at Bow Cliff

Our member, Roy Hetherington is a very active member, involved in all of the singing groups such as the Harmonica Tableau, the Rhythm Kats, and the Singalong Group.  Watch his interview to see how he got involved, and what he has to say about it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FXIbWswj5ds

Interview with June Crowe of the Rhythm Kats:

Six years ago, I started the Rhythm Kats. We are currently holding our own, but as you can see, our numbers are diminishing.  The new 50+ group coming our way are into totally different things.  Both of my groups like to sing and play the songs we grew up with — the “oldie goldies”  as I call them.  I guess I am not into Rock and Roll.

A year ago, I joined the Board of Directors. I had been asked many times before but was too busy with music, family, and so forth.  When I join something, I like to participate 100% and give it my all.  Now with all the changes taking place at the Centre, being on the Board is very exciting and, not to say the least, very challenging!  There are plans for:

A New Parking Lot, I am not going to miss the potholes!

A Brand New Building, Whoopee! A New Kitchen, decent Washrooms and more space. My Sing-along s will be able to move back to the Centre.

The biggest issues I see is changing our focus for the next generation of 50+ coming into the fold.  We need to develop new programs to suit their needs and lifestyles, but also to keep in mind our current members and their needs.  What a great time to be a part of this expansion and change. Go! Bow Cliff! Go!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZWkXqulcg3Y

Leave a Reply

